Cricut Joy 2 Review (2026): Small Footprint, Wide Material List

Cricut Joy 2 Review (2026): Small Footprint, Wide Material List

Updated September 2026

A specs-first Cricut Joy 2 review: 4.5 in cutting width, 75+ materials, what the Essential Bundle includes, and who this...

15 min read

Review at a Glance

Price
Best ForSmall, frequent projects: custom cards, labels, simple decals, printable stickers
Cutting width4.5 in (11.4 cm), per the listing
WeightJust over 2 lbs (0.91 kg), per the listing
Materials75+ materials, per the listing

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle + Digital Content, Blue — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Look, the question with any ultra-compact cutter is never "can it cut?" It's "will 4.5 inches of cutting width be enough for the projects I actually make?" That's the whole decision, and the manufacturer's published specifications answer it more clearly than most marketing copy does.

This Cricut Joy 2 review is built entirely from the published Amazon listing record for the Essential Bundle, retrieved 2026-09-09. This website does not do hands-on testing, and nothing below describes a machine anyone here has handled. What follows is a close reading of what the manufacturer and the listing actually claim, plus what those figures likely mean for a buyer making labels, cards, and small decals.

Supported strengths

Purchase-relevant limitations Check Price on Amazon
Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.

Quick Picks

ProductBest forKey published specLink
Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle + Digital Content, BlueCompact, everyday label, card, and decal making4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width; just over 2 lbs (0.91 kg); 75+ materialsCheck Price on Amazon

Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show

The Cricut Joy 2 is described by the manufacturer as the next generation of its ultra-compact cutting machine, aimed at quick everyday projects like custom cards, simple decals, and labels. That's a narrow, honest positioning, and it's the most useful sentence on the whole listing page.

Two numbers define the machine. The cutting width is 4.5 in (11.4 cm). The weight is just over 2 lbs (0.91 kg). Everything else — material range, writing, foiling, Print Then Cut — sits inside those two constraints.

Here's the thing: a 4.5 in cutting width doesn't just limit decal size, it shapes your whole material buying pattern. Per the listing's own portability bullet for the Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle + Digital Content, Blue (ASIN B0GJFS6L4M), the machine is described as having a 4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width. The listing also states that Cricut Joy 2 works with 75+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on, printable materials, and cardstock. Separately, the listing states that the Essential Bundle includes Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets, and Printable Vinyl.

Key Features and Specifications

Specification (as published on the listing)Stated valueWhat it likely means for a buyer
Cutting width4.5 in (11.4 cm)Sets the maximum design width; larger art must be split or tiled
WeightJust over 2 lbs (0.91 kg)Light enough to move between a desk and a closet shelf without a dedicated station
Material compatibility75+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on, printable materials, cardstockCovers the common label, apparel, and card categories most home crafters buy
Tool functionsWrites, draws, foils, scores, cutsCard-making and lettering are in scope, not just cutting
Print Then CutWorks with a home inkjet printer; machine recognizes and precision-cuts around inkjet-printed imagesFull-color stickers without a specialty printer
ConnectivityBluetooth to Design Space on a mobile or desktop deviceNo cable-tethered workstation implied by the listing
Included free content3,000+ images, 100+ fonts, 1,000+ projectsA working starter library before any subscription
Bundle contentsSmart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets, Printable Vinyl; enough supplies for up to 35 projects; 25 additional premium images; 1 fontFirst projects possible without a second shopping trip

One caution on that bundle figure: "enough supplies to create up to 35 projects" is Cricut's own estimate, and project size obviously drives how far a roll of Smart Vinyl goes. Treat it as a ceiling, not a guarantee.

Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle + Digital Content, Blue — Best for compact label, card, and decal projects

The reason to point a buyer at this specific configuration is straightforward: it pairs a 4.5 in (11.4 cm) machine with the exact material types that width is designed around — Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets, and Printable Vinyl — so a first-time owner can make labels, cards, and small decals on day one instead of guessing which supplies fit.

Pros

Cons Check Price on Amazon

Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data

No performance figures — cut speed, force, tolerance — appear in the supplied listing information, so this section is inference from published specs, not observation.

The strongest performance signal on the page is the claim that the machine cuts intricate designs with precision and automatically recognizes inkjet-printed images to cut around them. Registration-based cutting is the demanding part of any sticker workflow, and Cricut asserting it as a headline capability suggests the sensor and software path are built for it. It also implies a real dependency: your printer's color and scaling accuracy become part of the result.

On materials, 75+ supported materials covering vinyl, iron-on, printable stock, and cardstock is a wide enough spread that most home projects — a pantry label, a heat-transfer name on a tote, a scored greeting card — fall inside the list. What the listing does not do is publish a per-material thickness or force rating, so heavier specialty stock should be checked against Cricut's own material settings before you buy it.

Build Quality and Design

This is where the evidence runs thin, and pretending otherwise would be dishonest. The supplied listing information states the weight (just over 2 lbs / 0.91 kg) and the cutting width (4.5 in / 11.4 cm), but it does not state housing materials, chassis construction, roller design, or overall external dimensions.

What the weight figure does support is a design conclusion: at just over 2 lbs, this is a machine built to be picked up and put away, not anchored to a bench. Cricut frames it exactly that way, calling it ideal for crafting — and storing — in any space. If you want a cutter that lives permanently on a dedicated table, that portability priority is worth nothing to you; if you craft on a dining table, it's the entire point.

Cricut Joy Xtra vs Joy 2: What Can Actually Be Compared Here

This comparison comes up constantly, so let's be precise about what is and isn't established. The record in hand covers the Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle only: a 4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width, just over 2 lbs (0.91 kg), 75+ compatible materials, and Print Then Cut via a home inkjet printer.

No specification record for the Cricut Joy Xtra was supplied to this website, so no cutting width, weight, or material count is stated here for that model. The right move is to pull the Joy Xtra's published cutting width from Cricut directly and compare it against the Joy 2's 4.5 in figure yourself.

Same logic applies to bundles. The Essential Bundle's contents are published: Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets, Printable Vinyl, 25 additional premium images, and 1 font. The contents of a Cricut Joy 2 Deluxe Bundle are not stated in the supplied listing information, so compare the two bundles' own contents lists side by side rather than assuming the Deluxe simply adds "more of the same."

Cricut Joy 2 for Labels and Decals

Direct answer: labels and decals are the use case this machine's published specifications point at most directly. Cricut names custom cards, simple decals, and labels as the target projects, and vinyl and printable materials are both on the compatibility list.

The practical math matters. A 4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width comfortably covers spice jar labels, bin tags, laptop decals, water bottle stickers, and address labels. It does not cover a 10-inch car window decal in one piece. If your label library is small-format and repetitive, that width is a non-issue; if you make signage, it's disqualifying.

For full-color labels, Print Then Cut is the feature to focus on — printing on your inkjet and letting the machine cut around the printed artwork is what turns a die cutter into a sticker maker. Pair it with the Printable Vinyl included in the Essential Bundle to start without buying more media. If heat-applied projects are on your list, our guide to heat press basics for small craft projects covers what Smart Iron-On needs downstream.

Value for Money

Current pricing changes, so check current price on Amazon rather than trusting any number printed on a static page. What can be assessed is what's in the box relative to a bare machine.

The Essential Bundle adds five material types plus 25 premium images and 1 font, which Cricut estimates is enough supplies for up to 35 projects. For a first-time buyer, that removes the most common frustration in this category — owning a cutter and no compatible media. Whether that bundling beats buying materials separately depends on the price you see today and on whether Smart Vinyl and Smart Iron-On are formats you'd have chosen anyway.

Factor the software economics in too. The free library is stated as 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts, and 1,000+ projects, which is a real starting point, but anything beyond it is a la carte or a recurring Cricut Access fee. Budget for that if you design from templates rather than your own files.

Who Should Buy This

Who should look elsewhere: anyone whose core projects exceed 4.5 in (11.4 cm) in width, and anyone who needs a published maximum material thickness before committing, since the supplied listing information does not state one.

How We Research

This website reads specifications; it does not run a lab. For this page, the research consisted of two source types: the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0GJFS6L4M, retrieved 2026-09-09, and the product listing feature bullets published on that same listing.

Every figure above — the 4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width, the just-over-2 lbs (0.91 kg) weight, the 75+ material count, the bundle contents — is quoted from those published sources and attributed to Cricut or the listing. Where the record is silent, this review says so rather than filling the gap. For general consumer recourse and recall information, CPSC and USA.gov consumer protection are the appropriate references.

Final Verdict

Buy the Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle + Digital Content, Blue if your project list is genuinely small-format, and skip it if it isn't. That's the whole call, and the 4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width makes it for you.

What tips it from "fine" to "smart first machine" is the combination of that compact width with a 75+ material list, a machine that writes, draws, foils, and scores, and Print Then Cut running off an ordinary home inkjet printer. Add a bundle that ships with Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets, and Printable Vinyl, and a beginner is making things the same day rather than assembling a supply order.

The honest caveats: the width ceiling is real, subscription content is a recurring cost if you rely on Cricut's library, and the supplied listing information doesn't publish warranty or blade specifications — confirm those with Cricut if they're decisive for you.

Check Price on Amazon

Frequently Asked Questions

How wide can the Cricut Joy 2 cut?

The listing states a 4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width. That's the maximum design width in one pass, which is why Cricut positions the machine for smaller everyday projects.

Can the Cricut Joy 2 make full-color stickers?

Yes, per the listing. You print your design on a home inkjet printer, and the machine automatically recognizes and precision-cuts around the inkjet-printed images to create full-color stickers, decals, and apparel graphics.

What materials does the Cricut Joy 2 work with?

Cricut states the machine works with 75+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on, printable materials, and cardstock. Specific thickness limits are not stated in the supplied listing information, so check individual materials against Cricut's own settings.

What comes in the Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle?

The listing specifies Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets, and Printable Vinyl, which Cricut estimates is enough supplies to create up to 35 projects, plus 25 additional premium-quality images and 1 font.

How does the Cricut Joy 2 compare to the Cricut Joy Xtra?

No specification record for the Cricut Joy Xtra was supplied for this article, so no figures for that model are stated here. Compare its published cutting width against the Joy 2's 4.5 in (11.4 cm) width on Cricut's own site.

Do I need a Cricut Access subscription?

Not to start. The listing states a free out-of-the-box library of 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts, and 1,000+ projects, with additional content available a la carte or through a Cricut Access subscription for a recurring monthly or annual fee.

Is the Cricut Joy 2 portable?

By weight, yes. Cricut lists it at just over 2 lbs (0.91 kg) and describes it as ideal for crafting and storing in any space, which supports moving it between a table and a shelf rather than leaving it permanently set up.

Sources and Methodology

Nobody at this website cut a single sheet of vinyl to write this page, and there is no lab behind it. The analysis draws on the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0GJFS6L4M and the product listing feature bullets published alongside it, both retrieved 2026-09-09, with each number traced back to what Cricut or the listing actually publishes.

For cutting machines, that kind of specification reading answers the questions that decide the purchase — cutting width, weight, material compatibility, included supplies, and software costs — because those are all published, verifiable figures. It cannot tell you how a blade holds up over a year or how quietly the machine runs, and this review does not pretend otherwise.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews