As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Standout Published Spec | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| ShineNow 60W Digital Soldering Iron Heat Set Insert Tool with Extra Soldering Tips and Heat Set Insert Tips | Dual-duty soldering plus M2-M8 insert installation | 7 styles of heat set insert tips for M2, M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6 and M8 inserts | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Last Updated: September 2026
Heat-set inserts are the fix for the weakest part of most 3D-printed assemblies: threads cut straight into plastic. Melt a brass insert into a printed boss and you get a real machine screw thread that survives repeated disassembly. The tool that does the melting is where buyers get stuck, because the category mixes handheld temperature-controlled irons with bench fixtures that guide the tip vertically into the part.
This review looks at one tool with a verified listing record: the ShineNow 60W Digital Soldering Iron Heat Set Insert Tool with Extra Soldering Tips and Heat Set Insert Tips. Nobody on this website has handled it. Everything below is read directly off the manufacturer's published listing data and reasoned through — clearly labeled as inference wherever it goes beyond what the listing states.
Review at a Glance
- Best For: Makers who want a single iron that both solders and installs metric brass inserts across a wide thread range
- Pros: Covers M2, M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6 and M8 inserts with 7 insert tip styles; digital readout that switches between Celsius and Fahrenheit; 5 extra soldering tips in a common 1/4-inch outside diameter; doubles as a general-purpose 60W soldering iron
- Limitations: The supplied listing information does not state a temperature range, temperature stability, stand inclusion, cord length, or warranty; it describes a handheld iron rather than a fixtured vertical press, so squareness depends on the operator
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
Amazon's listing for this tool presents it as both a soldering iron and a heat set insert installing tool. That dual framing matters more than it sounds. Plenty of shoppers searching for an insert tool already own a soldering iron and only need tips; plenty of others own nothing and need the whole kit. This one is sold as the whole kit.
The manufacturer's listing describes a 60W soldering iron and says the power level means no long waiting during soldering applications. Read that as a heat-up and recovery claim from the seller, not an independently verified figure — no warm-up time in seconds appears in the supplied listing information.
The listing states the tool ships with 7 styles of heat set insert tips covering M2, M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6 and M8 heat set inserts. The listing for the ShineNow 60W Digital Soldering Iron Heat Set Insert Tool with Extra Soldering Tips and Heat Set Insert Tips also states that it comes with 5 pieces of 1/4-inch O.D. soldering tips that meet most of the soldering needs, and that it is very easy to find replacements if you need more tip sizes.
Is This a "Vertical Heat Set Insert Press"? A Straight Answer
No. The supplied listing information describes a handheld iron with interchangeable insert tips; it does not describe a press frame, a linear rail, a drill-press style lever, or a vertical guide.
Here's the thing: that distinction is the single most important buying decision in this category. A fixture holds the tip perpendicular to the part surface so the insert goes in square. A handheld iron puts that responsibility on your hand and your eye. Skilled users get square results freehand all the time, but if you are installing dozens of inserts on visible surfaces, a guided setup is a different workflow than what this listing describes. If a vertical press is specifically what you're shopping for, that's a different tool class and this review does not evaluate one.
What the handheld format buys you instead is portability and dual use. This is a soldering iron first, which the insert tips bolt onto.
Key Features and Specifications
| Published Specification | What the listing states | Practical read |
|---|---|---|
| Power | 60W soldering iron | The seller ties this rating to reduced waiting during soldering; higher wattage generally correlates with faster thermal recovery, though the listing publishes no recovery figure |
| Heat set insert tips | 7 styles, for M2, M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6, M8 | Covers the metric sizes most commonly used in printed enclosures and brackets without buying a second tip set |
| Soldering tips | 5 pieces, 1/4-inch outside diameter | A common shank size, and the listing notes replacements in other sizes are easy to find |
| Display | Digital display, easy to read | The listing describes the display as digital and easy to read out |
| Units | Celsius and Fahrenheit convertible, by clicking the buttons twice | Useful if your insert manufacturer publishes guidance in one unit and you think in the other |
What the record does not include, stated once so this isn't repeated throughout: the supplied listing information does not specify a temperature range, temperature accuracy or stability, an included stand or sponge, cable length, plug type, tip material, or warranty terms. Those are worth confirming on the live listing or with the seller before buying, particularly the temperature range, since insert manufacturers publish their own recommended installation temperatures.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
Start with what a soldering iron is doing during an insert install. The tip has to hold enough heat to soften the surrounding thermoplastic while you press down slowly, then let the plastic reflow around the knurling as it cools. Two variables decide whether that goes well: the tip temperature, and how quickly the iron replaces the heat that the cold brass insert and the part pull out of the tip. The supplied listing information for the ShineNow 60W Digital Soldering Iron Heat Set Insert Tool with Extra Soldering Tips and Heat Set Insert Tips does not state that the temperature can be set to a chosen number.
The manufacturer's listing describes a 60W soldering iron and says the power level means no long waiting during soldering applications. The reasonable inference — and it is an inference, not something observed here — is that a 60W element gives you more thermal headroom on back-to-back installs than a low-wattage pencil iron. The listing publishes no duty-cycle rating, no recovery time, and no temperature range, so how it behaves on a run of twenty M6 inserts in ABS is not something the supplied data establishes.
The digital readout is the more concrete performance-relevant feature. The listing describes a digital display that is easy to read, and says the readout converts between Celsius and Fahrenheit by clicking the buttons twice. Insert installation happens in a fairly narrow window: too cool and you push instead of melt, too hot and the plastic goes soupy and pillows up around the flange. The supplied listing information for the ShineNow 60W Digital Soldering Iron Heat Set Insert Tool with Extra Soldering Tips and Heat Set Insert Tips states only that the display is digital and easy to read out and that it converts between Celsius and Fahrenheit; it does not state that the temperature can be set to a chosen number.
One scope note. A displayed temperature is a readout, not a calibration certificate. The supplied listing information does not state accuracy tolerance, and it does not state that the temperature can be set to a chosen number, so treat your first few installs on scrap as the way you learn how the tool behaves with your filament.
Build Quality and Design
The supplied listing information does not describe housing materials, heating element type, tip retention method, or grip construction, so this website cannot assess build quality from specifications. That is an evidence gap, not a criticism.
What the record does support on the design side is serviceability. The listing says the 5 included soldering tips are 1/4-inch O.D. and that replacements in other sizes are easy to find. A common shank standard is genuinely good design thinking: it means the iron's usefulness doesn't end when the bundled tips wear out or when you need a chisel tip the kit didn't include.
Value for Money
Check current price on Amazon, since offers change and this page is static.
The value argument for this kit is bundling. You are getting a 60W digital soldering iron, 7 styles of heat set insert tips spanning M2 through M8, and 5 spare soldering tips in one purchase. A buyer who already owns a good temperature-controlled station is paying for an iron they don't need and would likely do better buying tips alone. A buyer starting from nothing gets both capabilities in one box.
The counterweight is that the specifications a value comparison would normally hinge on — temperature range, stability, warranty — are not in the supplied listing information, so this review cannot rank it against other irons on those axes.
Who Should Buy This
- Makers standardizing on brass inserts across several thread sizes. The 7 insert tip styles cover M2, M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6 and M8 in one kit.
- First-iron buyers. You get soldering capability and insert capability together, with 5 spare 1/4-inch O.D. soldering tips included.
- Anyone who wants an easy-to-read display. The listing describes a digital display that is easy to read out, with switching between Celsius and Fahrenheit.
ShineNow 60W Digital Soldering Iron Heat Set Insert Tool with Extra Soldering Tips and Heat Set Insert Tips — Best for makers who want one tool for soldering and M2 through M8 inserts
The reason this earns that specific label is the tip coverage the listing publishes: 7 styles of heat set insert tips spanning M2, M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6 and M8, paired with 5 soldering tips in a 1/4-inch outside diameter. That combination targets a hobbyist consolidating two tools into one rather than a production shop.
Strengths
- Metric insert coverage from M2 to M8 without a second tip purchase
- Digital readout that the listing describes as easy to read, with Celsius and Fahrenheit switching
- 60W rating, which the seller ties to reduced waiting during soldering
- Standard 1/4-inch O.D. soldering tips, with the listing noting replacements are easy to find
- Handheld format, so perpendicularity is operator-dependent rather than fixtured
- The supplied listing information does not state temperature range, stability, stand, cord length, or warranty
If you're outfitting a broader making bench, our heat press buying guide and 3D printing finishing tools pages cover adjacent gear.
How We Research
This website does not do hands-on testing, and it runs no lab. For this page, the research consisted of reading the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0CJR4Y192, retrieved 2026-09-09, and working through each published product listing feature bullet line by line to separate stated specifications from marketing language.
Where the listing publishes a number — 60W, 7 insert tip styles, 5 soldering tips, the M2 through M8 range — we repeat it and attribute it. Where it does not, we say so rather than filling the gap from memory. Seller claims such as "no more long waiting" are reported as the seller's claim, not as verified behavior.
General consumer product safety information and recall notices are published by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (cpsc.gov), which is worth checking for any mains-powered heating tool.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. The listing states the tool ships with 7 styles of heat set insert tips covering M2, M2.5, M3, M4, M5, M6 and M8 heat set inserts, so M3 and M4 — the two sizes most 3D printing projects use — are included.
Is this a vertical heat set insert press?
No. The supplied listing information describes a handheld soldering iron with interchangeable heat set insert tips and does not describe a press frame or vertical guide. If fixtured, square installation is your priority, that is a different tool class.
What temperature should I set for heat set inserts?
The supplied listing information does not state a temperature range, a recommended setpoint, or that the temperature can be set to a chosen number for this tool. Follow the temperature guidance published by the manufacturer of your specific brass inserts and your filament, and dial it in on scrap prints first.
Can I use it as a regular soldering iron?
Yes. The listing for the ShineNow 60W Digital Soldering Iron Heat Set Insert Tool with Extra Soldering Tips and Heat Set Insert Tips describes a 60W soldering iron that is also a heat set inserts installing tool. That same listing states it comes with 5 pieces of 1/4-inch O.D. soldering tips that meet most of the soldering needs.
Can I buy replacement tips for it?
The listing says the 1/4-inch outside diameter soldering tips are easy to find replacements for if you need more tip sizes. Replacement availability for the heat set insert tips specifically is not addressed in the supplied listing information.
Does it show temperature in Fahrenheit?
Yes. The listing describes a digital display that is easy to read, and says the readout converts between Celsius and Fahrenheit by clicking the buttons twice.
Does it come with a warranty?
The supplied listing information does not state warranty terms. For general guidance on consumer rights and resolving problems with a purchase, see USA.gov's consumer protection resources (usa.gov).
Final Verdict
Buy this one if you want a single iron that handles both soldering and metric brass inserts, and you don't already own a temperature-controlled station. The tip coverage is the strongest argument in the published record: 7 insert tip styles spanning M2 through M8 means you're not re-buying tips the first time a project moves from M3 to M6.
Skip it if what you actually want is a guided vertical press. The listing describes a handheld iron, and no amount of good tip coverage substitutes for a fixture when squareness and repeatability across a large batch are the goal.
And go in with your eyes open on the unknowns. The temperature range, stability tolerance, stand, and warranty are not in the supplied listing information — confirm the ones that matter to you on the live listing before you commit.
Sources and Methodology
No physical or laboratory testing sits behind this page — this website did not heat, hold, or install anything with this tool. What it did do was pull the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0CJR4Y192 on 2026-09-09 and read every published listing feature bullet closely, separating hard specifications (wattage, tip counts, thread sizes, tip diameter) from seller phrasing that sounds like a spec but isn't measurable.
For heat set insert tools specifically, that approach answers the questions that decide most purchases: which thread sizes are covered, whether the temperature is set by number or by guesswork, and whether the tool is handheld or fixtured. It cannot tell you how the iron holds temperature under load or how it survives a year on a busy bench, and this page does not pretend otherwise.