Likcut S501 Review (2026): Small Cutter, Big Software Promises

Likcut S501 Review (2026): Small Cutter, Big Software Promises

Updated September 2026

A specs-first Likcut S501 review: a 4.5-inch compact format designation, Bluetooth 5.0, AI text-to-design, and what the ...

15 min read

Review at a Glance

ProductLikcut S501 Vinyl Cutter Machine, 4.5" Compact Die Cutting Machine
Price
Best ForSticker makers, planner and card crafters, and small-space or travel crafting suited to the title's 4.5-inch compact format designation
ConnectivityBluetooth 5.0 and USB 2.0
Standout FeatureAI voice- and text-to-design sticker generation

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

Likcut S501 Vinyl Cutter Machine, 4.5" Compact Die Cutting Machine — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Look, the Likcut S501 is not trying to be a full-size crafting workhorse. The product title itself tells you the story: it is a 4.5-inch compact die cutting machine, and everything else in the listing is built around that decision. This review reads the manufacturer's published listing closely and works out what a 4.5-inch cutting machine with Bluetooth 5.0, USB 2.0 and an AI design generator actually means for the person buying it.

No one here has cut a single sheet of vinyl on this machine. This website does not do hands-on testing. What follows is a specification analysis, and I will be explicit about where the supplied listing information runs out.

Supported Pros

Limitations Worth Knowing Before You Buy Check Price on Amazon
Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.

Quick Picks

ProductBest ForKey Listed SpecsLink
Likcut S501 Vinyl Cutter Machine, 4.5" Compact Die Cutting MachineSticker and small-format crafting in tight spaces4.5" compact die cutting format; Bluetooth 5.0 and USB 2.0; AI voice/text-to-design; front cover storageCheck Price on Amazon

Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show

The Likcut S501 Vinyl Cutter Machine, 4.5" Compact Die Cutting Machine is a small-format cutting machine aimed at beginners who want stickers, cards and décor without learning professional design software. That framing comes straight from the manufacturer's own bullets, which lead with "you don't need any experience" and end with community tutorials and support.

Here's the thing about the 4.5-inch number in the title: the supplied listing information does not state what it measures, so it is not confirmed as a cutting width, a mat width or a maximum design width. The manufacturer's own positioning — stickers, cards and décor — points at small-format work, but until Likcut publishes a cutting width, treat the figure as an unqualified title designation rather than a verified size limit.

The rest of the listing is unusually software-heavy for a hardware product. Likcut is selling the design pipeline — an AI generator, a large design store, tutorials, and a community — as much as the cutter itself. That is a legitimate strategy for beginners, but it means the buying decision partly rests on details the supplied listing information does not state, such as whether Design Store access is included or subscription-gated.

Key Features and Specifications

SpecificationWhat the Manufacturer Publishes
Format4.5" compact die cutting machine (title designation; what the 4.5 inches measures is not stated)
WirelessBluetooth 5.0
WiredUSB 2.0
Stated connection time"Connect in just 3 seconds" (seller claim)
Onboard storageFront cover doubles as tool and material storage
Design libraryOver 1,000,000 designs, more than 1,000 fonts (Likcut Design Store)
AI featuresVoice commands and text prompts converted into a ready-to-cut digital design
SoftwareLikcut Glee, positioned for users with no prior experience
SupportManufacturer states help with setup, design questions and troubleshooting
Cutting force / blade specNot stated in the supplied listing information
Material compatibility listNot stated in the supplied listing information
WarrantyNot stated in the supplied listing information

Bluetooth 5.0 plus USB 2.0 is the practical detail

Dual connectivity matters more than the version numbers. Bluetooth 5.0 is the wireless path Likcut lists, and USB 2.0 gives you a cable option when a wireless link drops mid-cut or when a school or shared workspace blocks Bluetooth pairing. For a machine that is explicitly pitched at classrooms and portable crafting, having both is the sensible design choice.

USB 2.0 is not a bandwidth constraint for cut files, which are small vector paths rather than large images. The inference is straightforward: the port choice is about compatibility and reliability, not speed.

The AI sticker maker is the differentiator on paper

Likcut describes typing or speaking a prompt — their own example is "a cute retro cat eating ice cream" — and receiving a ready-to-cut digital design. If it works as described, that removes the single biggest beginner obstacle in this hobby, which is not the machine at all. It is sourcing or drawing artwork that cuts cleanly.

Be realistic about scope, though. The supplied listing information does not state how many AI generations you get, whether they are included with the machine, what image formats result, or how the AI output is traced into cut lines. Treat the feature as a stated capability, not a guaranteed unlimited one.

Front cover storage is a small-space feature, not a gimmick

The manufacturer states the front cover doubles as storage for tools and materials. On a machine whose entire pitch is compactness, that is coherent design thinking: the blade housing, spare blades, weeding tools and scraper are the things that get lost, and keeping them on the machine means the whole kit travels as one object.

Check Price on Amazon

Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data

I have to be straight with you here: the supplied listing information does not publish the numbers that would let anyone predict cutting performance. There is no stated cutting force in grams, no blade angle, no material thickness range, no cut speed, and no supported-materials list.

What the evidence does support is a reasoned inference about scope. A machine sold as a 4.5-inch compact die cutting machine, marketed around stickers, cards, home décor, memory keeping and party favors, is positioned for thin, flexible craft media — the sticker-and-cardstock end of the hobby. Nothing in the supplied listing establishes performance on thick leather, chipboard, balsa or heavy specialty materials, so do not assume it.

If your project list is dominated by small repeated shapes — labels, planner icons, name tags for a classroom set, decals for a batch of tumblers — the 4.5-inch format is a match for the work rather than a compromise. If your list includes wide designs, check the rated cutting width with Likcut first, because the supplied listing information does not state one and no software feature substitutes for that.

A hypothetical to make the width concrete

Say you want twenty-four 2-inch round stickers for an event. How many fit per pass cannot be worked out from the supplied listing information, which states no cutting width, mat width or edge margin. Say instead you want a 9-inch decal for a laptop lid — whether that fits is equally unresolved, because the supplied listing information does not state a maximum design width and does not describe any tiling or splitting workflow.

Build Quality and Design

This section has to stay narrow, because build quality is exactly the kind of thing that requires physical inspection, and none happened here. The supplied listing information does not state chassis materials, machine weight, dimensions, roller construction or carriage design.

What the manufacturer does establish about design intent: a compact, portable body sized for small spaces and travel, a front cover engineered to hold tools and materials, and a setup process the seller describes as taking seconds. Those are design decisions consistent with a machine built to live on a desk corner or in a tote bag rather than a dedicated craft table.

One honest caveat. "Compact and portable" is a marketing description in this listing, not a published weight or dimension, so treat it as the manufacturer's positioning rather than a verified figure.

Value for Money

Check current price on Amazon — pricing on this category moves, and a static number would mislead you.

What I can assess is what you are paying for. The value proposition here is not raw cutting capability, which the listing does not quantify. It is the on-ramp: beginner-oriented Likcut Glee software, a design store the manufacturer lists at over 1,000,000 designs and more than 1,000 fonts, AI prompt-to-design generation, tutorials and community access, plus manufacturer support for setup and troubleshooting.

That bundle has real worth to a first-time crafter who would otherwise spend evenings hunting for cuttable SVGs. It has much less worth to someone who already owns a design library and knows their way around vector software — that buyer is paying for an ecosystem they will not use, on a machine the manufacturer describes only as a 4.5-inch compact format.

One unresolved variable belongs in your calculation: the supplied listing information does not state whether the Design Store or the AI generator carry any subscription cost. Confirm that with Likcut before you assume the software is free for the life of the machine.

Who Should Buy This

Buy the Likcut S501 Vinyl Cutter Machine if you are:

Skip it if you are:

Likcut S501 vs Likcut S41: What Can Actually Be Said

Shoppers search this comparison constantly, so let me be honest instead of helpful-sounding. No specification record for the Likcut S41 was supplied for this article, and I will not reconstruct one from memory. Inventing a rival machine's cutting width, force rating or software tier to make a tidy table is precisely how buying guides mislead people.

What you can do yourself is compare on the axes that matter for this category: maximum cutting width, published cutting force, included blade types, whether Bluetooth is present alongside USB, whether the design store and AI tools are included or subscription-based, and warranty length. Check each figure on the manufacturer's own page for each model.

For the S501 specifically, the anchors are the 4.5-inch compact die cutting format, Bluetooth 5.0 with USB 2.0, and the AI voice/text-to-design feature. Those three are what any alternative has to beat for your particular projects.

How We Research

This website does no hands-on testing and runs no lab, and we say so on every page. For this review, the S501's Amazon Creators API verified product record and its product listing feature bullets were retrieved on 2026-09-09 and read line by line.

The method is deliberately narrow. Each published figure — the 4.5-inch format in the product title, Bluetooth 5.0, USB 2.0, the design and font counts — is attributed to whoever published it, and every gap is named as a gap rather than filled from memory or from a similarly named model. Seller claims such as the three-second connection time are labeled as seller claims, because a listing bullet is marketing copy, not independent verification.

For general consumer protection guidance and product safety recalls, buyers can consult the CPSC and USA.gov's consumer protection resources.

Final Verdict

The Likcut S501 Vinyl Cutter Machine, 4.5" Compact Die Cutting Machine is a focused product, and I mean that as a compliment. Likcut picked a lane — small stickers, easy software, portability — and the specification sheet is internally consistent with that choice, from the 4.5-inch format to the tool storage built into the front cover.

My opinionated read: this is a strong first cutter for someone whose projects are genuinely small and whose real obstacle is artwork, because the AI prompt-to-design feature and the manufacturer's stated library of over 1,000,000 designs and more than 1,000 fonts attack that obstacle directly. It is a questionable fit for anyone whose projects may outgrow a compact format, since the supplied listing information does not state the machine's cutting width.

Before you buy, ask Likcut two questions the supplied listing information does not answer: what materials and thicknesses the machine is rated to cut, and whether the Design Store and AI generator carry ongoing costs. Get those two answers and this becomes an easy yes-or-no decision.

Check Price on Amazon

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the cutting width of the Likcut S501?

The manufacturer's product title identifies it as a 4.5-inch compact die cutting machine, but the supplied listing information does not state what the 4.5 inches measures, so no cutting width or maximum design width can be confirmed from it. Ask Likcut for the rated cutting width before buying.

Does the Likcut S501 connect wirelessly?

Yes. The listing states Bluetooth 5.0 for wireless use and USB 2.0 as a wired alternative, with the seller claiming a three-second connection. Having both matters if you craft somewhere Bluetooth is unreliable or restricted.

How does the Likcut AI sticker cutter feature work?

According to the manufacturer, you give the machine's software a voice command or a text prompt — their own example is "a cute retro cat eating ice cream" — and it produces a ready-to-cut digital design. The supplied listing information does not state usage limits, output formats or whether the feature carries a subscription cost.

How many designs come with the Likcut Design Store?

Likcut lists over 1,000,000 designs and more than 1,000 fonts in the Design Store. Whether all of them are included with the machine purchase is not stated in the supplied listing information, so confirm access terms with the manufacturer.

Is the Likcut S501 good for beginners?

On paper, it is built for them. The manufacturer states the Likcut Glee software requires no prior experience and pairs it with beginner tutorials, an online community, and support for setup and troubleshooting.

Can the Likcut S501 cut thick materials like leather or chipboard?

The supplied listing information does not state a cutting force, blade type or material thickness range, so that cannot be answered from the published data here. Ask Likcut for the rated material list before buying for any thick or specialty material.

How does the Likcut S501 compare to the Likcut S41?

No specification record for the S41 was available for this analysis, so no honest side-by-side is possible here. Compare the two on cutting width, published cutting force, connectivity, included software access and warranty using each model's own manufacturer page.

Sources and Methodology

Nobody at this website cut vinyl, unboxed a machine, or ran a lab bench on the S501 — there is no test rig behind this page, and pretending otherwise would be dishonest. What this analysis rests on is the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0DP4YDPY8 and its accompanying product listing feature bullets, both retrieved on 2026-09-09, read closely enough to separate the manufacturer's hard specifications from its marketing adjectives.

In a category like small-format cutting machines, that kind of reading gets you a long way on fit questions: whether a 4.5-inch format matches your projects, whether Bluetooth 5.0 plus USB 2.0 suits your setup, and what the software ecosystem is meant to do for you. It cannot tell you how the blade behaves on a specific vinyl or how the machine holds up over a year, and this review does not pretend to.

Related reading on this site: choosing a first vinyl cutter and heat press basics for sticker and decal crafters.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews