Cricut Explore 5 vs Maker 4

Cricut Explore 5 vs Maker 4

Updated September 2026

Cricut Explore 5 vs Maker 4 compared on published specs: material counts, bundle contents, tools and who each machine ac...

14 min read

As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.

Quick Picks

PickProductWhy
Widest material rangeCricut Maker 4Listed at 300+ materials, and adds engraving, debossing and perforating to the cut/draw/foil/score set
Compact machine plus suppliesCricut Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle + Digital ContentDescribed as 30% more compact than previous models, and the bundle includes a Cricut EasyPress Mini LT heat press

Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Last Updated: September 2026

Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.

Quick Answer

Buy the Maker 4 if your project list keeps drifting toward harder, thicker, fussier materials. Cricut's listing for the Maker 4 says it works with 300+ materials, including leather, wood, vinyl, iron-on HTV, cardstock and stickers, and that it cuts, draws, foils, scores, engraves, debosses and perforates. That engrave/deboss half of the sentence is the real dividing line here.

Buy the Explore 5 bundle if you mostly make vinyl decals, shirts, cards and stickers, and you want a machine plus supplies in one box; the supplied listings do not state dimensions for both machines, so neither is ranked as the smaller one here. Cricut's listing says the Explore 5 precision-cuts 100+ popular materials, including vinyl, iron-on, cardstock and printable materials, and that it writes, draws, foils, scores and cuts. The Ultimate Bundle also throws in a heat press, which the Maker 4 Engagement Bundle listing does not include.

Full Comparison Table

FeatureCricut Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle + Digital ContentCricut Maker 4 - Smart Cutting Machine (Seashell) | Engagement Bundle
Stated material compatibility100+ popular materials, including vinyl, iron-on, cardstock and printable materials300+ materials, including leather, wood, vinyl, iron-on HTV, cardstock and stickers
Stated actionsWrites, draws, foils, scores and cutsCuts, draws, foils, scores, engraves, debosses, perforates and more
Cutting width12 in (30.5 cm)Not stated in the supplied listing information
Size claim30% more compact than previous modelsNot stated in the supplied listing information
ToolsWorks with six tools, including the Deep Cutting Tool (sold separately); adds a snap-in pen holderBundle ships with Fine-Point Blade, Scoring Stylus, 2 Fine Point Pens and weeding tools
Print-Then-CutYes, with a home inkjet printerYes, compatible with most inkjet printers
Heat press includedYes, Cricut EasyPress Mini LTNot listed
Bonus digital content25 premium images plus 1 font30 premium images
ColorTaupeSeashell
PriceCheck Price on AmazonCheck Price on Amazon

Design & Build Quality

Here's the thing: only one of these two listings actually talks about physical size. Cricut describes the Explore 5 as 30% more compact than previous models while keeping the same 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting performance, and the listing also mentions an aesthetic new look and a simplified interface. If your machine lives on a dining table and gets put away after every session, that footprint claim matters more than any material count.

The supplied Maker 4 listing does not state dimensions, weight or a comparable size claim, so a like-for-like footprint comparison is not established by the supplied data. Treat that as missing information rather than evidence the Maker 4 is bulky.

One small hardware detail worth flagging: the Explore 5 listing calls out a new hassle-free snap-in pen holder. That reads like a fix for the fiddly clamp-and-drop pen loading on older machines, though the listing does not describe the mechanism beyond that phrase.

Colorways are documented for both. The Explore 5 is listed in a brand-new Taupe color, and the Maker 4 product title identifies this configuration as Seashell.

Features & Functionality

The headline gap is what each machine does to a material once it grips it. Cricut's Maker 4 listing says the machine cuts, draws, foils, scores, engraves, debosses and perforates. Cricut's Explore 5 listing says that machine writes, draws, foils, scores and cuts. Engraving and debossing appear on the Maker 4 record and not on the Explore 5 record — if you want engraved metal tags or debossed leather, that is the machine the evidence points to.

Both handle full-color sticker work the same way in principle. The Maker 4 listing describes Print-Then-Cut as compatible with most inkjet printers. The Explore 5 listing says you print your design on a home inkjet printer and the machine automatically recognizes and precision-cuts around the printed images.

Software is shared ground, and neither machine wins it. The Maker 4 listing says Design Space is free, runs on desktop and mobile, and ships with a free library of 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects. The Explore 5 listing states the same free library figures of 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects and adds that the machine connects by Bluetooth.

Subscription upside is only spelled out on one record. The Maker 4 listing states that the optional paid Cricut Access Subscription unlocks a library totaling 1,500,000+ images, 1,000+ fonts and 100,000+ projects. The listing for Cricut Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle + Digital Content, Taupe references an optional Cricut Access Subscription that unlocks an ever-growing library, without publishing any totals, so the 1,500,000+ images, 1,000+ fonts and 100,000+ projects figures are attributable only to the Maker 4 listing and cannot be assumed to describe what the Explore 5's subscription unlocks.

Tooling differs in how it is described. The Explore 5 listing says the machine works with six tools, including a Deep Cutting Tool sold separately for thicker materials like foam and rubber. The supplied listing information for Cricut Maker 4 - Smart Cutting Machine (Seashell) | Engagement Bundle does not state which blade or tool it uses for thicker materials, so the two records cannot be compared on that point.

Performance

Neither listing publishes cutting speed, force ratings, or blade pressure figures, so any claim about which machine cuts faster or presses harder would be invented. Skip anyone who tells you otherwise without numbers.

What the specifications do support is a range argument. Cricut rates the Maker 4 at 300+ compatible materials versus 100+ for the Explore 5 — a threefold difference in stated headroom, and the Maker 4's list explicitly names leather and wood while the Explore 5's names vinyl, iron-on, cardstock and printable materials. The reasonable inference: the Maker 4 is specified to reach materials the Explore 5's published list does not cover, not that it cuts common vinyl any better.

On cut size, only the Explore 5 has a published figure in this data: 12 in (30.5 cm). The Maker 4 listing mentions big banners, which implies long-format cutting, but does not state a width, so treat banner length as unquantified here.

Price & Value

Bundle contents are where these two diverge most for a first-time buyer, and both are documented in detail.

The Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle is listed as including Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets and Printable Vinyl, plus a Cricut EasyPress Mini LT heat press, with enough supplies to create up to 135 projects, and it adds 25 premium-quality images plus 1 font. A heat press in the box is the standout: apparel work needs heat, and this kit supplies it.

The Maker 4 Engagement Bundle is listed as including the Cricut Maker 4, Fine-Point Blade, Light Grip Mat, 2 Fine Point Pens, Mini Weeder, materials for a practice cut, Scoring Stylus, Scraper, Spatula, Weeder, Smart Iron-On, Smart Vinyl, Cardstock Sampler, Transfer Tape and 30 Digital Images. That is a strong tool-and-materials starter set, but no heat press appears in it.

Budget accordingly. If you buy the Maker 4 bundle for shirt-making, plan on a separate press or iron — see our Cricut heat press buying guide for how the sizes differ. Prices move constantly on both: Check Price on Amazon for the Maker 4 bundle and Check Price on Amazon for the Explore 5 bundle.

Cricut Maker 4 - Smart Cutting Machine (Seashell) | Engagement Bundle — Best for makers who want engraving and debossing

This is the pick when your ambitions outrun vinyl. The listing's claim of 300+ materials plus engraving, debossing and perforating is the specific reason to pick it, and Cricut's own bullet frames it as working with more compatible materials and tools than the brand's other cutting machines. The supplied listings do not state prices, so this page does not rank the two bundles on cost.

Cricut Maker 4 - Smart Cutting Machine (Seashell) | Engagement Bundle — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

Strengths

Limitations Check Price on Amazon

Cricut Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle + Digital Content — Best for a compact machine with heat-press supplies included

This is the sensible first machine for decal, card and shirt makers. Cricut describes it as the newest generation of the Explore line, 30% more compact than previous models, with the same 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting performance and a simplified interface.

Cricut Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle + Digital Content, Taupe — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

Strengths

Limitations Check Price on Amazon

Which Should You Buy?

How We Research

This website does not do hands-on testing. For this comparison we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product record for each ASIN on 2026-09-09 and read every published listing feature bullet line by line, then compared only the attributes both manufacturers' listings actually state — material counts, functions, bundle contents, tooling and digital content. Where one listing publishes a figure and the other does not, we say so instead of guessing a value.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Cricut is better for fabric?

Neither supplied listing names fabric explicitly among its compatible materials, so this cannot be settled from the published bullets alone. The Maker 4's 300+ material figure and its named leather and wood support suggest more headroom for heavier goods, but confirm rotary or fabric blade compatibility with Cricut before buying for quilting or garment cutting.

Is there an Explore 5 Essential bundle?

The Explore 5 configuration covered here is the Ultimate Bundle, which Cricut lists as including Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets, Printable Vinyl and a Cricut EasyPress Mini LT heat press. Other bundle tiers are outside the evidence used for this page, so compare contents lists carefully before assuming they match.

What does the Maker 4 T-shirt bundle cost?

The Maker 4 configuration covered here is the Engagement Bundle, not a T-shirt bundle, and its listed contents include Smart Iron-On and Smart Vinyl but no heat press. For any Maker 4 kit, Check Price on Amazon and match the included-items list against what you actually need.

Do both machines make full-color stickers?

Yes. Both listings describe Print-Then-Cut: you print the design on an inkjet printer and the machine cuts around the printed image.

Do I have to pay for Cricut Access?

No. Both listings describe Design Space as free with an out-of-the-box library of 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects, with Cricut Access positioned as an optional paid add-on.

How big can the Explore 5 cut?

Cricut publishes a 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting width for the Explore 5. A comparable width figure for the Maker 4 is not stated in the supplied listing information.

Does either bundle include a heat press?

The Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle lists a Cricut EasyPress Mini LT. The Maker 4 Engagement Bundle's published contents do not include a press.

Final Verdict

If you are choosing on capability alone, the Maker 4 is the more capable machine on paper, and the gap is specific rather than vague: 300+ stated materials against 100+, plus engraving, debossing and perforating that the Explore 5's listing never claims. Buy it if those verbs describe projects you genuinely intend to make.

For most people reading this, though, the Explore 5 Ultimate Bundle is the smarter buy. A 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting width covers standard vinyl and cardstock work, the body is described as 30% more compact than previous models, and the included EasyPress Mini LT plus supplies rated at up to 135 projects removes the usual second shopping trip. Pair either machine with our beginner's guide to Cricut vinyl before your first project.

Sources & Methodology

No one at this website cut a single sheet of vinyl for this article — there is no lab here and no machine on a bench. What informs it is the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0DTQ8BGM9 and ASIN B0GJFNVJ49, retrieved 2026-09-09, read alongside each listing's published feature bullets so that material counts, bundle contents, tool compatibility and digital-content figures could be lined up attribute by attribute. For craft cutters, that kind of spec reading is genuinely decisive: what a machine is rated to cut, and what physically ships in the box, determines which projects are possible, while questions of cut quality, noise and long-term durability need owner reports and manufacturer support documentation this page does not have. Consumer safety and recall information for craft equipment is published by the CPSC and general shopper protections at USA.gov.

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

CPSC consumer-product safety data

https://www.cpsc.gov/
USA.gov consumer protection

USA.gov consumer protection

https://www.usa.gov/consumer-protection

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews